Marnie Stern Announces First Album in 10 Years, Shares New Song: Listen


Marnie Stern has announced her first new album in a decade. The Comeback Kid arrives on November 3 via Joyful Noise. She’s shared the lead single, “Plain Speak,” in which she sings about the importance of keeping hope alive. Listen to the new song below.

The follow-up to 2013’s The Chronicles of Marnia finds Stern going beyond where she left off and the giddy finger-tapping technique for which she’s known. “It was so great to be able to start being myself again and when I would think, ‘Oh, is that too, too weird?’ I’d remember I’m allowed to do whatever I want! This is mine,” she said. “I’m trying to go against the grain of this bullshit that when you get older, you lose your sense of taste. I want to empower people to not be so homogenous and go against the grain a little bit.”

Stern hasn’t been idle these past 10 years. In addition to raising two children, she’s been a regular guitarist in the 8G Band on The Late Show With Seth Meyers alongside bandleader Fred Armisen.

Check out the new review of Marnie Stern’s “Plain Speak.”

The Comeback Kid:

01 Plain Speak
02 Believing Is Seeing
03 The Natural
04 Oh Are They
05 Forward
06 Working Memory
07 Il Girotondo Della Note
08 Til It’s Over
09 Nested
10 Earth Eater
11 Get It Good
12 One and the Same

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.